Author Topic: Nube 3D printing question  (Read 2567 times)

paharris65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Nube 3D printing question
« on: November 04, 2016, 08:13:38 AM »
When I create objects and then use booleans to cut out overlap etc, the objects are printing without applying the boolean functions?

Any ideas

Phil

sunny

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Nube 3D printing question
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2016, 10:23:13 AM »
There are two types of boolean in Shade3D.

1. Rendering Boolean where you put a symbol at the front the object name in browser window, then when rendering, it apply the boolean function on the fly. It won't change the object itself, but just for the rendering.

2. Boolean Modeling where you select two or more objects, and then apply the boolean function directly to the objects. This operation will actually alter the objects and generate a boolean result in mesh object. This can be 3D print if it is a manifold object with certain thickness there.

paharris65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Nube 3D printing question
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2016, 01:23:23 PM »
excellent!!!  now i know how to do the first, but am not sure about the second... :)

sunny

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Nube 3D printing question
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2016, 02:42:13 PM »
You may find out more information regarding Boolean Operation at http://help.shade3d.jp/en/support/ShadeHelp/

Reference Manual > Toolbox > Modify Tab > Toolbox: Tools Options

mperdue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Nube 3D printing question
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2016, 09:24:12 PM »
When you export your STL file be sure to select "Visible Objects Only" or the file will contain all the geometry used to create the part.